Settings – Video instruction
The Settings window helps to set Kwik the way you like to work. When you run Kwik for the first time, it will bring you there (after you close the Welcome Screen). It can also be accessed via the gears icon on the bottom navigation bar:
Three tabs are available: General, Publish and Registration.
The two most important fields here are the location of the Corona Simulator and the default Project Folder location (the folder where all of your projects are going to be saved). By default Kwik uses the most common directories. If you have Corona installed in another location or want a different project folder, just edit the fields.
IMPORTANT: Do NOT use a Dropbox (or any other network folder). Kwik can only read local disks. Also, do NOT use more than 2 folder levels as default folder – for example, /Documents/Kwik3 is fine, /Documents/My Kwik/Another Folder/Maybe another one/ is not.
All other checkboxes are described below (definitions for the cases where the checkbox is enabled):
- Show all alert messages: show alert boxes for non-important alerts;
- Show Welcome window: show the Welcome Screen every time Kwik starts;
- Check for updates when starting: verifies if there is a new update for Kwik (it requires an Internet connection);
- Open only first project page document: opens only the first project page (a good thing when you have dozens of pages in your project);
- Expand action list in button and action window: auto expand all action categories in the Action and Button windows;
- Sort Components Panel by name: sort the list of components in each page by alphabetical order;
- Open Corona when Kwik starts: if checked, loads both Corona Terminal (for debug) and Simulator;
- Use colored icons: change the interface to colored icons, when checked, or monochrome when unchecked ;
- Show sample tutorials in the Recent Projects list: if checked, shows all available sample projects from Kwiksher in the Recent Projects list;
All checkboxes are described below (definitions for the cases where the checkbox is enabled):
- Export images: export all layers as independent image files (depending of the selected device, it may export more than one size of each file). This option can also be accessed via the bottom navigation bar. Starting in version 2.2, 3 export images mode can be activated:
- Select just one layer with Export Images ON and it will export all page images;
- Select more than one layer with Export Images ON and it will export only the selected layers images;
- Select just one layer with Export Images OFF, press SHIFT key and click Publish: it will export only the selected layer image;
- Publish only current page: export the final code only for the working page. This option can also be accessed via the bottom navigation bar;
- When publishing only current page, start Simulator in the current page: when enabled, it will jump to the current page from the project in the Simulator, when it starts. If disabled (the default), previews the project starting in page 1. Don’t forget to disable this option when your project is ready for submission! IMPORTANT: This will not work if you have Auto-Bookmarking set for the project (the bookmark will always bypass this selection).
- Publish only pages_<num>.lua …: exports only the page(s) file(s), not exporting external libraries used in the project;
- Export sample icons: adds the default application icons provided by Kwik in the case user forgets to add their own;
- Close documents after publishing: close the Photoshop document after page code is created;
- Export external content (audio, video, images and sprite sheets) in separated folders: saves all audio, images, videos and sprite sheet files in different folders inside the project folder (/build);
- Automatically resize image resolution if needed while exporting for smaller devices: in projects targeting more than 1 device, when enabled, this option will automatically resize the image to even numbers (both width and height);
- Create report of used files in the project: at the end of the publishing process, shows a list with all files used in the project. This is useful to help users to delete files previously used but not needed anymore. For optimal results, export ALL pages of the project with Export Images option enabled;
- Show memory used in the Terminal: when enabled, it will show memory used in real time. This feature helps developers to track memory leak in their projects. This feature will only work on the Simulator, being disabled on real devices!
- Use Bilinear interpolation to increase image resolution: Forces the Bilinear interpolation (a bit longer resizing process) while resizing images to different resolutions.
For more information on how to register from this table, check the Registering page.