Home / Topic / Add external code

Add external code

Home Kwiksher Forums Help me! Add external code

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Jorge
    Participant

Hi,
    This is my very first attempt to add external code. The code is based on the Memory Game tutorial, with the necessary adaptations. This is the code:

while #tList ~= 0 do
    local ind = math.random(#tList)
    table.insert(randList, tList[ind])
    table.remove(tList,ind)
    end

local cards = { {164,188}, {604,188}, {1044,188}, {1485,188}, {164, 588}, {604,588},
    {1044,588}, {1485,588}, {164,988}, {604,988}, {1044,988}, {1485,988} }
    local card = {}
    for i = 1,#randList do
    card[i] = display.newImageRect( imgDir.. “mgC_card”..randList[i]..”.jpg”, 400, 360 );
    card[i].x = cards[i][1]
    card[i].y = cards[i][2]
    menuGroup:insert(card[i])
    end

I gave it a name shuffleCardsChar and saved it as .txt Uhave used notepad for it)
    When I use the command Add External Code I give it the same name as above and point to a local directory where I plan to put all external codes.
    However, nothing happens. The field From file: remains empty.
    What am I doing wrong? The code?
    Thanks in advance.

Administrator
    Keymaster

First of all this code is wrong. Check this tutorial on how to convert Kwik 2 projects to Kwik 3:http://kwiksher.com/tutorials_kwik/migrating-external-code/

Also, there are different ways to add external code (you can have them in your main.lua file, in a page, in a button/action, etc). It seems to me the issue may be in the file name (make sure you see the name with the .txt or .lua extension in the Finder). Try also, whenever is possible to use only lower caps in external files names.

Jorge
    Participant

Alex, many thanks for the Kwik answer.
    What I did:
    -changed the name as you have recommended
    -selected all the cards I have in the page and the “add external code”
    -changed the code (changes in bold)

while #tList ~= 0 do